Trip to the vet

So we did it. Monti is now neutered.

DSC_5892

I did not go with him to the vet, my boyfriend did because I would have probably taken him home without doing the surgery! I am not as strong as my boyfriend is but, he had problems with l leaving him there! it was horrible and I believe him. When Monti came home I was at the viking fair but, decided to take the bus home I did not want to stay there when Monti was sick. He was very unstable and was bleeding and we started to panic so we called the vet again, he said it was very normal to bleed a little when the wound was still fresh. He did not bleed a lot but, to us it was like a river and I almost got sick from looking at his wound. I would bet it was three table spoons of blood or less! he was in his crate for several hours without food or water, the vet said he needed to be out of anesthesia before eating or drinking. The first few days he was very sleepy but, he did eat the day after and soon enough he found a way to drink out of his bowl. I know every case is different, I have heard about dogs who has been sick for a week and some them normal self after just a day. You do need to limit daily activity to a minimum because of the stitches.

The recovery was quick and he is his normal self 🙂 So happy he did not have to have a wound for long. He does not have any scars at all and is now his normal self.

 

2 thoughts on “Trip to the vet

  1. Poor Monti, and poor you. the stress of having any kind of medical treatments on our friends is almost over whelming. And then when there has to anesthesia involved it is ten fold.
    Looks like he is healing up very well. the lampshade is a must as otherwise Monti wold have found a way to chew those stitches right out and then you have big problems.
    Once all is done and over, Monti will be a whole new dog and all of those behaviours will magically disappear.
    In the long run it is the best thing you could do for him..
    Now is the time to sit back and enjoy the summer! Take care.
    bill

    • Yes it was horrible! The smell and the bleeding really shook me up. I am happy he is better now, the redness is going away and he is his normal self. I really hope he can relax more in the future, walking him has been a nightmare! Thanks for the kind words Bill 🙂

Leave a Reply

